Wheat starch is not wheat grain and it is not wheat protein. It is not intended to contain any gluten. BUT it is very difficult to completely separate the starch and protein components of wheat so small amounts of gluten remain in the wheat starch. Not all wheat starch is created equal.
But she now has to make an exception for wheat starch and explain to her patients why it can be acceptable on the gluten-free diet. Whenever wheat starch is used in a food labeled “gluten free,” it must appear in the ingredients list. Wheat will also appear in the “Contains” statement if the product has one.
This of course begs the question “What is the difference between vital wheat gluten and wheat starch?”
Manufacturers sell vital wheat gluten separate from the wheat starch. Food companies and bakeries use vital wheat gluten to create extra elasticity in their baked goods while wheat starch is typically used as a thickening agent in cooking and baking.
What happens when you wash gluten and starch together?
During the wash, the starch dissolves in the water while the gluten sinks to the bottom of the container and remains a solid. The liquid is then left to evaporate, and what’s left behind is a starchy, powdery substance known as wheat starch. Manufacturers sell vital wheat gluten separate from the wheat starch .
Moreover, what is wheat starch and how is it made?
Wheat starch is the starch from a wheat grain that has been processed to remove the gluten protein. To turn wheat into wheat starch, milled flour is turned into a dough and then washed. During the wash, the starch dissolves in the water while the gluten sinks to the bottom of the container and remains a solid.
Does wheat dextrin have gluten?
The primary ingredient in Benefiber is wheat dextrin, but because this is a portion of the wheat plant that doesn’t contain the protein that creates problems for people with celiac disease and other similar digestive issues, it’s legally labeled as being gluten-free.
Whether dextrin is gluten-free or not depends on its original source. In the United States, dextrin is often made from gluten-free ingredients such as corn or tapioca, making it gluten-free. Sometimes dextrin is made from wheat. Most foods in the United States that contain dextrin made from wheat will label it as so.
Is dextrin a wheat starch hydrolysate?
Wheat starch and modified wheat starch were not exempted from allergen labeling in the European Union. Dextrin also may be derived from wheat starch and if so would be considered a wheat starch hydrolysate. As many of you know, Benefiber sold in the United States uses wheat dextrin as its fiber source.
I recently noticed that Benefiber contains wheat dextrin. Yet the label states that there are less than 10 ppm gluten in the container. My husband has been using Benefiber for five years. Is wheat dextrin considered safe? It may seem contradictory to find wheat dextrin as an ingredient in Benefiber when it is also labeled gluten free.
Is dextrin a common food allergen?
No, dextrin is not a common food allergen. Some people may experience allergic reactions to dextrin but it is relatively rare by comparison. A group of the eight major allergenic foods is often referred to as the Big-8 and includes milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat and soybeans.