A wheat-free diet may not resemble those plans. It may exclude wheat, but not rye and barley, which contain gluten. And it may or may not be a weight-loss diet — it’s simply a diet that excludes all wheat and wheat products. Wheat, like sugar, goes by many names.
Can you eat barley if you are gluten-free?
Barley is not as ubiquitous in our food supply as wheat, but it can be trickier to avoid because food manufacturers are not required to disclose its presence. However, if you stick mainly with foods that carry gluten-free labels and skip foods that contain malt, you should be able to steer clear of barley as you eat gluten- free .
You may already know some diets that eschew wheat and grains, such as the Paleo, Atkins, and ketogenic diets. A wheat-free diet may not resemble those plans. It may exclude wheat, but not rye and barley, which contain gluten. And it may or may not be a weight-loss diet — it’s simply a diet that excludes all wheat and wheat products.
Is barley good for making bread?
Barley does not contain a lot of gluten, which means that on its own it is not good for making bread, unless unleavened bread is made. However as it does contain some gluten it means that it is unsuitable for people on a gluten free diet suffering from celiac ( coeliac) disease.
How should I label foods that contain wheat or barley?
Prepackaged foods that contain wheat, barley, rye or triticale and derivatives must be labeled with the name of the grain in the ingredient list, which is very helpful.
Should I Go gluten-free if I have a wheat allergy?
People with wheat allergy often only need to stay away from wheat and can eat the other grains. So following a gluten-free diet may be limiting. But gluten-free foods should be safe for people with wheat allergy. Always read the ingredient list to double check.
The best way to manage your wheat allergy is to avoid any and all forms of wheat and wheat by-products. If after some time you feel you would like to test and see if you are still allergic to wheat, consult your doctor and ask about doing a challenge test to gauge your reaction under the supervision of your doctor.
Thus, autoimmune and not a food allergy. If you have a wheat allergy, you are usually safe with all other grains but wheat and its derivatives. (Some people (20%) with wheat allergies, in rare cases, are sensitive to other grains as well.).